My Paulo Coelho Moment.

I read Paulo Coelho’s ‘The Alchemist’, some years ago. To say that it left a lasting impression on me, would be nothing but the untruth. To me, it was more a fantasy tale than a wonderful novel. How I am qualified to qualify a best seller, many may wonder. But my opinion is as simple that. For my limited intellectual and aesthetic bent of mind, it only had that limited appeal.

There were some quotes I had marked, which were more appealing and reveling than the entire book, for my future references. Of the most striking of some golden sentences, one stood out. “When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it”. I would add one more word ‘wholeheartedly’ before the word ‘want’, to make it more striking.

Some days back, I was in Salem. During that Monday morning, my friend, who runs a hotel in Trivandrum, called me and enquired about my whereabouts. When I briefed him , he had a request. “Narayanan, my elder brother passed away at my native place and the obsequies will be on Wednesday. I will be returning only on Friday. Could you please manage the cash counter in the evening on Wednesday and Thursday”. Conveying my heartfelt condolences, I confirmed, I will make it on Thursday, as I will be travel weary without sleep, despite having an assured berth.

The problem with me is, I can’t sleep in a moving train. I would keep sitting through out the night munching something, or peeping though the window, viewing the dark moonlit landscape. l used to maintain a small pocket book and noted the stations in between and the running time and compare the time taken during the my down journey. What else can I do? You cannot read, switching the lights on and in the process, earn, co-passengers ire.

During the up journey to Salem, one youngster, observing insomnia, berthed in the upper one, when the train just covered Alwaye, asked me if I can alert him when the train leaves Palakkad, so that he can get down at Coimbatore. Sure, I assured him. But the unexpected happened. All of a sudden, I noticed, the train was halting at Pudur. I hurriedly and promptly woke up the youngster.”Next is Coimbatore, we are at Pudur”. He stared at me. I was bit astonished at the harshness of his stare. He rushed, without a word of usual courtesy. I kept it to myself and casually and innocently, asked my co-passenger, “Coimbatore……..after or before Pudur?”. His answer sent shivers down my spine and unmasked itself, the cause for the youngsters indifference at my ‘timely’ help. I had missed two stations during my sitting slumber.

My Paulo Coelho moment started the day after I landed back at home town. After a day’s rest, I prepared to honour the word I committed to my hotelier friend. My wife was aware of my impending journey and never thwarted my journey to my friend’s place at any time during the last so many years of our friendship. But she was bit hesitant this time. “It is raining”. “So what, I have rain-coat”. I countered. “I know you are still tired, you need more rest” “No, I am not going to do any herculean task out their. Just sitting at the counter and collecting the payments”. Not to leave me at that,she continued, “You forgot that you paid Rs.14,000/- the previous day at the shop. When we went again the following day, to take delivery, you said you have not made the payment and the shop-owner confirmed collection, when you offered the money again. Chithi told me never to allow you to handle cash alone. Now you are going to handle cash with a sinking head”. ” You cannot generalize an one off event”. I told her confidently, about to take leave of her.

About to swing my legs on to the two-wheeler, I noticed another bike just passing me and coming to a halt just in-front. That was my would be nephew-in-law (and not son-in-law), who addresses me only as uncle and not as father, very much to my delight. So I cannot go out leaving him unattended. That took about 15 minutes. When I told him about my commitment and about to reload on to my bike, a car with very familiar number halted. They were my better-half’s sister and husband to invite us for their son’s marriage. Again I had to walk in and spent some time with them. Then they too left and the time was only 7.30 pm. I still have some time.

Soon dropped in the catering contractor, to whom I had promised to meet on Thursday evening, which escaped my memory, the minute I made the appointment, some days back This entailed a longer session, with the whole family joining to discuss about the menu for the dinner and lunch. I hurriedly, concluded the meeting with a qualification that this is not final and got a rough quotation, which was but tumulting, considering the differing views of son, daughter and wife, while I had my own notions. That session was over by 8.10, still nursing my desire to go was deterred by nature when it began raining ferociously.

As my wife’s want was more than a mere desire, Paulo Cohelo’s golden words proved good for her and was seen gleaming at her success of thwarting my journey.

Author: narayananneyyar

I am Trivandrum based, one not at all confident in the proper usage of English. You will find lot of unusual hiccups in my treatment of English. That alone will provide you lot of lighter moments. All criticisms are eagerly accepted and hope this would make me emerge a better writer, and I think, will not bore you, in the process my blogs become error free.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.